Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Caster question. answers in simple form
mad-butcher

posted on 25/4/09 at 06:42 PM Reply With Quote
Caster question. answers in simple form

Hi Guys
As above, I've built several m/cycle racing outfits in the seventies so have a rough idea of lead and trail, Struggling to get my head round caster angle on a car (MK) sierra upright
1) how do you measure it
2) is it a line drawn through the top ball joint, stub axle and bottom ball joint taken to the floor. then that would be the caster angle.
3) If 2 is correct how is the caster angle affected by using offset mushroom adjusters, because by having the mushroom fully forward ( to increase caster) you are now unable to draw a straight line through the top ball joint, stub axle and bottom ball joint,

simple answers please I'm a wagon driver not an engineer

tony

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
blakep82

posted on 25/4/09 at 06:44 PM Reply With Quote
its the line between the top and bottom ball joint, NOT the upright.
the angle's then measured against vertical

so those mushroom thingys don't affect the castor angle. which thinking about it now, makes me not sure what the point of them is

[Edited on 25/4/09 by blakep82]

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

mad-butcher

posted on 25/4/09 at 06:47 PM Reply With Quote
your cars starting to look good

tony

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
mr henderson

posted on 25/4/09 at 06:50 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by blakep82
its the line between the top and bottom ball joint, NOT the upright.

Indeed

blakep82

posted on 25/4/09 at 06:50 PM Reply With Quote