Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: MK Indy or "New" chassis?
JEPY

posted on 3/6/07 at 07:41 PM Reply With Quote
MK Indy or "New" chassis?

Hi All (Newbi/lurker here!)

Right, I've been plotting for the last 3 or 4 years and have finally got to the position of buying/building a kit car.

I had decided on the MK Indy having seen examples at shows and also the build in Which Kit magazine a couple of years ago.

I've just got my donor 1.8 Sierra and am looking to start stripping it in the next couple of weeks much to my wife's disgust.

BUT... I went on to the MK website and spotted the new chassis. Having read bits of dicsussion on here, I got the impression the new chassis is more suited to bike engines due to the space constraints? Can anyone shed any light on this? Would it be easier to stick with the standard Indy chassis since I'm looking to put either a Zetec or Duratec engine in?

I'm planning on a visit to MK soon so I can have a proper poke around and place my order but any info up front would be much appreciated!!

Thanks
James

PAUL FISHER

posted on 3/6/07 at 08:10 PM Reply With Quote
The engine bay area is a bit smaller than the original chassis,but there is still plenty of room for a zetec or duratec,or just about any other engine you wish to fit in there.
martyn_16v

posted on 3/6/07 at 08:25 PM Reply With Quote
If you can source your engine and gearbox early, you can leave it with MK when they're building your order and they'll build the chassis to fit it (and fab you up some engine mounts while they're at it). I did that with my XE engine, it fits like a glove. There's not much space at the back of the engine and in the tunnel but there's plenty of room towards the front.

Hellfire

posted on 4/6/07 at 11:31 AM Reply With Quote