Board logo

Civic Based Midi
itsu-san - 8/4/10 at 05:35 AM

Hey Guys,

I've been lurking for the last month or so. I'm working through my design process and need some advice so i thought id post up my progress.
Basically my goal is max performance per dollar. Im a student so my budget is low. Im treating this as a learning exercise trying to do it cheap but cleaver. I'm currently studying mechanical engineering at canterbury university, hence the solidworks and fea modeling.

Bit about the car
honda d15b twin carb 105hp
Mx5 front uprights
5th element mountain bike shocks actuated by push-rods
these allow a 1.33 motion ratio and full compression and rebound adjustments.
more to come

Spacial mock up

Rear suspension and wheelbase

Fiberglass body

Rear suspension

Style inspiration Radical

[Edited on 8/4/10 by itsu-san]

speedyxjs - 8/4/10 at 06:12 AM

Me likee that very much.

Oh and welcome to the madhouse

Ivan - 8/4/10 at 06:45 AM

Love the body design - great for a one-off with no obvious compound curves yet still looks good.

Will watch this with interest.

MakeEverything - 8/4/10 at 07:48 AM

"posted on 8-4-10 at 05:35 "

You cant be a student........

Good luck with that. looks good, but why the smaller Civic engine when the Type R is so readily available?

cd.thomson - 8/4/10 at 08:17 AM

quote:
Originally posted by MakeEverything

Good luck with that. looks good, but why the smaller Civic engine when the Type R is so readily available?

He's not been to sleep yet! Thats a sign on a true student

Looks good. Running mountain bike shocks sounds a bit scary but what would I know

gingerprince - 8/4/10 at 11:47 AM

quote:

My guess from his username (itsu-san) is that it's a Mr Itsu, from Japan, where the time is several hours ahead when Bargain Hunt has already been on

MakeEverything - 8/4/10 at 11:50 AM

"I'm currently studying mechanical engineering at canterbury university"

My guess is you didnt read this bit!!

Richard Quinn - 8/4/10 at 12:03 PM

quote: