Board logo

Voltage Gauge- waste of time?
James - 10/1/06 at 10:48 PM

I was just thinking about (and cursing a little) undoing all the zip ties that hold my loom so as to fit the wires for the voltage gauge I've got.

Then I thought, what the hell's the point. I've been driving normal cars for 10 years now and so far not wanted for one. I've got a charge warning light, do I need a gauge at all?

Anyone found theirs particularly useful?

Cheers,
James

JoelP - 10/1/06 at 10:57 PM

saves you digging out a voltmeter when it wont start, i suppose Pretty useless apart from that.

ReMan - 10/1/06 at 11:00 PM

Nope, waste of time/money.

Dale - 10/1/06 at 11:44 PM

Does give a helpfull hint on altinator condition. And a warning if its overcharging as well.

02GF74 - 11/1/06 at 09:51 AM

quote:
Originally posted by James

Then I thought, what the hell's the point. I've been driving normal cars for 10 years now and so far not wanted for one. I've got a charge warning light, do I need a gauge at all?

Anyone found theirs particularly useful?

I have guages galore in my Land Rover, one of them is volt guage.

Also the speedo has alternator warning lamp.

To answer the second question, yes. The first alternator stopped charging but the lamp went off; I could see the volts were lower than they should have been plus there was a fuel/volts/water temp guage that showed the volts were down too.

As said, voltmeter is more precise tool to indicate alternator problems - you will also see if it overcharges - the lamp may come on iff excessive.

... but to be honest, in a locost it is excess weight and you if your battery fails, you are not likely to be stranded in an inaccessible position off road hence not so important. (annoying I have voltmeter one fitted in mine; I wouldn't have fitted it).

britishtrident - 11/1/06 at 10:49 AM

It gives you something to worry about ;-)

A useful diagnostic tool but not required if you have a DMM.

[Edited on 11/1/06 by britishtrident]