Board logo

LED lights. One for the electronic experts amongst us ?
Jon Ison - 20/12/06 at 09:08 PM

My search for LED rear lights that I like as too date come too nothing, found one or two advertised for trailers/lorry/bus type but now really what I want.

Whats involved in making your own ?

Say I wanted a cluster of clear LED's that within them contained stop tail and indicator functions how easy/hard is this too do ?

Please remember I'm not bad with spanners but crapo with electronics ?

oliwb - 20/12/06 at 09:10 PM

From my experience as long as you buy 12v led bulbs it shouldn't be too hard...simply a case of mounting them all and splitting them into the sections you want eg. half tail and half stop then wire them all together in their sections and out to a relay or the switch directly....I'm no expert but can see no reason why that shouldn't work....you might have to be carefull with regards to wattages etc as this will effect the speed of the flash amongst other things....Oli.

snapper - 20/12/06 at 09:15 PM

Just make sure you comply with the SVA lighting area rules.

smart51 - 20/12/06 at 09:17 PM

12V leds are just 2V leds with a regulator of some sort. for automotive use, you should have something that will withstand 18V ro more for a short time but still work, at least partially, below 8 or 9V. The last thing you want is to blow your lights on a dark road or have them go off when cranking.

LEDs can be bought clear or self coloured in red, orange, yellow, green, blue and white. You can make all light functions for a car with them. They are available in different viewing angles. The viewing angle is usually conical and usually between 15° and 45°. The brighter LEDs are brighter because all the light is crammed into a narrow cone.

I would use a constant current source to regulate the battery voltage to drive the LEDs. I'd also check into the legality of driving the red LEDs at 1/4 power for tail lights and full power for brake.