Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mig Welding Help :-)
rushandy

posted on 29/4/14 at 01:34 PM Reply With Quote
Mig Welding Help :-)

Hi all,

I'm practicing my welding before starting to build the chassis. I'm a complete novice, but still enjoying the practice very much.

I'd be very grateful for the opinions of any mig welders out there, to tell me whether or not they think I'm getting enough penetration. I've run some test beads down a 1mm sheet of mild steel, photos are below.

Above:
http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae321/rushandy/WP_20140425_002.jpg

Below:
http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae321/rushandy/WP_20140425_004.jpg

Also, I keep struggling to avoid blow through. I've got my mig set up to the recommended settings for this thickness (lowest power, wire speed 6, Clarke 151TE), but I still blow through about 50% of the time, as per the pics. It's always at the end of the weld bead, I'm guessing the metal is getting too hot, but would appreciate any advice.

Many thanks,
Andy

theduck

posted on 29/4/14 at 02:07 PM Reply With Quote
I'm not an expert either but penetration looks good although seem to be blowing through slightly at the ends. maybe try shorter beads.
cliftyhanger

posted on 29/4/14 at 02:17 PM Reply With Quote
Looks OK to me.
however, that is just a bead on steel. Try joining some steel. It will stop the blowing if an overlap joint, in fact you may need to go up a power level. Butt welding can be a challenge, but very useful.
i am using the same mig, but gasless (all my welding seems to be outside) and find it good. Just welded some sills on my old Triumph. After repairing all teh sill strengtheners. I find if it blows holes on the lowest setting, the metal is just too thin. The sills I fitted are probably 1.5mm, certainly thicker than normal panels. And I used puddle welding, very useful and seems almost foolproof.

joneh

posted on 29/4/14 at 03:32 PM Reply With Quote