Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Advanced composite moulding
Delinquent

posted on 7/10/07 at 10:34 AM Reply With Quote
Advanced composite moulding

Anyone have any good sources of info / forums on advanced composite moulding?

In designing my moncoque I obviously need to take into account exactly how I'm going to mould the thing, and am constantly coming up against the same problem, time and time again - large undercuts that really necessitate a join made after moulding - which I'm not happy about.

Looking at "production" carbon monocoques they seem to get away with it, so really I need info on the moulding techniques, joining techniques etc employed. I've got plenty of info and reasonable experience of straight forward moulding - either single or multi piece moulds, but some of what I need is well past that!

A good example is the Carrera GT passenger cell - which can be seen here...

http://www.auto-power-girl.com/pics/photo-gallery/_porsche_carrera_gt__end_of_production-11863

Mal

posted on 7/10/07 at 11:05 AM Reply With Quote
Removal from Mould

My knowledge of mding is limited to simple forms of GRP so these ides might be flawed.
I wonder if the answer to your problem is to think in terms of making the mould in several slideable sections and remove the mould from the moulding instead of the moulding from the mould. By this thinking it may be possible to extract the portion of the mould with re-entrant angles, after first taking away an 'easy section.
The other approach may be a sacraficial
mould in say, a skinned polyeuthethane ,which you extract in little pieces and then bin.

Mal.

Syd Bridge

posted on 7/10/07 at 11:18 AM Reply With Quote
That Porsche pic is a cad model. I'd like to see what they actually built. I would suspect something with a few alterations.