Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Thinking about building a Panther
gazzarose

posted on 15/8/08 at 07:53 PM Reply With Quote
Thinking about building a Panther

Hi guys,

Im a newbie to the kit car world, but been thinking about building one for years but only now really in the financial situation to start thinking properly.

Is the panther as good as it looks. I'm basicacally looking to build one for as little as possible. I was thinking use everything from sierra in standard, then anything that needs improving can be projects for future winters. Realisticly, how little money could I build one for. Whats the best way to go about it? I was gonna buy a sierra (does it matter which one, my only preference is a 2.0 so I dont have to upgrade the engine for a while).

Also, is it just a case of bolting it together, or is a case that the chassis needs to be fiddle with to get things to fit properly. I've read Dave's build diary and he didnt seem to have any major issues.

Thanks in advance and sorry for all the questions.

Gazza

nib1980

posted on 15/8/08 at 07:59 PM Reply With Quote
Do a search on here for GTS and have a think, there are many companies out there who do very similar pakages
mookaloid

posted on 15/8/08 at 08:24 PM Reply With Quote
I would say that for a first time build it would be a very good idea to pick a manufacturer which is close to where you live so that it is easy to visit if you have any questions/problems.

As above do a search on here to get views on the different manufacturers to see which ones are cheapest/easiest to build.

Cheers

Mark

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

StevieB

posted on 15/8/08 at 08:26 PM Reply With Quote
Don't rule out MK, Mac#1, MNR, Airies, striker.*

They're all much of a muchness in their most basic guise (MNR and Striker stand a little bit apart in their design and dynamics) and are fairly closely priced.