Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: FS: Poorly Corsa C Van
TimC

posted on 17/3/10 at 06:46 PM Reply With Quote
FS: Poorly Corsa C Van

Hi all, my pre-travelling sale continues, so my little van needs to go. Unfortunately it's got a few gremlins. Below is a cut'n'paste of my soon-to-be-live eBay ad, but if Locosters are interested, drop me a U2U. This little van is well capable of towing a lightweight trailer and Locost around - it went to Oulton, Silverstone and Snetterton last year.

2002 Vauxhall Corsavan (‘Low-blow’) 1.7Di. 113,000miles.

This little car derived van has served me very well over the last 12 months but now has a few issues that I do not have the time or inclination to solve as I’m going travelling.

Please bear in mind that I am not a mechanic - the faults listed below are essentially my best guess. I am giving as much detail as possible in the interest of openness, but any potential buyer should either check the vehicle out for themselves before bidding or bid safe in the knowledge that my assessment may well be wrong. Caveat emptor applies.

Let’s do the good stuff first:
MOT’d in January
2 New Tyres
Roof Fan/Vent
Tow bar professionally fitted in August last year.
Very solid
Runs and pulls very well once warm.
Turns, brakes, compresses and rebounds extremely well – all running gear is in excellent order it would seem.
Very economical – well over 50mpg

The not so good stuff:
Something is amiss with the cooling system on the car. It can take rather a long time to warm up, although this is not always the case. It is losing water from the header tank pressure cap. The cap has been replaced but the problem remains. My best guess would be a head gasket failure but a recent coolant-pressure and sniff test revealed no obvious signs so it could well be something else?
The car is also a bit hesitant sometimes until warm.