Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Scam ? I assume so
Macbeast

posted on 13/9/10 at 04:30 PM Reply With Quote
Scam ? I assume so

I'm away from home so I can't check myself but...
Bloke with heavy Indian accent rings my wife and tells her that there has been a massive release of trojans recently and her computer will be full of them. He tells her to look in some area and lo and behold there are dozens, if not hundreds of files. He tells her her firewall/ security would not have recognised them as they are trojans, not viruses. She has to do something about them or her computer will grind to a halt. Apparently there is software available at about £87 which will get rid of them.

It seems to me to be an obvious scam, but I'm no expert. Is it likely there is any truth in what he says ?

I'm addicted to brake fluid, but I can stop anytime.

bmseven

posted on 13/9/10 at 04:35 PM Reply With Quote
Smell the bulls^*t
big-vee-twin

posted on 13/9/10 at 04:38 PM Reply With Quote
Similar thing happend to Father in law and he let the Asian guy into his computer remotely over the internet to clean the files out, when the guy had done this he requested £100 payment which Father in law refused to pay.

Wasn't really a scam but a slight con because they guy didnt do anything underhanded (but could have) just should have made it clear money was to be exchanged. Because Father in law is a silver surfer and did not really understand what was going on

Sounds like a similar scam

Duratec Engine is fitted, MS2 Extra V3 is assembled and tested, engine running, car now built. IVA passed 26/02/2016

http://www.triangleltd.com

marcjagman

posted on 13/9/10 at 04:48 PM Reply With Quote
What I would like to know is, how did he know they were there, where they were and what number to call? If you could tell us where to look we could all check.
cd.thomson

posted on 13/9/10 at 04:51 PM Reply With Quote