Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: How stiff does a 3 wheeler chassis have to be?
smart51

posted on 18/5/10 at 11:01 AM Reply With Quote
How stiff does a 3 wheeler chassis have to be?

How stiff does a 3 wheeler's chassis have to be? Given that there are only 3 wheels on the road, there is no real torsion applied to the chassis. Am I right in thinking that it only has to resist bending under its own weight and under cornering, plus some crash resistance and roll over resistance?

JC

posted on 18/5/10 at 11:38 AM Reply With Quote
I'm no expert but I remember reading some time ago that the chap who designed the DRK said otherwise - his argument was that the last thing you wanted to encounter was rear wheel steer caused by chassis flex!!!
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
smart51

posted on 18/5/10 at 11:51 AM Reply With Quote
Yes, it would have to resist cornering forces. I should have been more clear, I'm thinking of torsional stiffness. I can't think of any torsional forces it would have to counter. So long as it didn't sag when you sit in it and it remains straight under cornering, something like a simple ladder chassis or a simple back bone would be more than enough.

boggle

posted on 18/5/10 at 01:18 PM Reply With Quote
speak to richard oakes at blackjack....

just because you are a character, doesnt mean you have character....

for all your bespoke parts, ali welding, waterjet, laser, folding, turning, milling, composite work, spraying, anodising and cad drawing....

u2u me for details

PLEASE NOTE: This user is a trader who has not signed up for the LocostBuilders registration scheme. If this post is advertising a commercial product or service, please report it by clicking here.

BenTyreman

posted on 18/5/10 at 01:37 PM Reply With Quote