Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding progress - improving, but may need to reweld the first joints
nick205

posted on 18/6/13 at 10:34 AM Reply With Quote
Welding progress - improving, but may need to reweld the first joints

OK - I'm getting the hang of it a bit better, but grinding down some of my first welds has revealed the need to reweld.

First pic is one of my latest attempts; V ground edges, slight gap and blow torch pre-heat on the thicker part.

second pick is one of my first welds, ground back to check it. Looks to me like it needs re-welding or it will crack?

Daddylonglegs

posted on 18/6/13 at 10:49 AM Reply With Quote
I'm no welding expert by any means, but I think I would re-do the lower one personally

Just my humble opinion

It looks like the Midget is winning at the moment......

Slimy38

posted on 18/6/13 at 11:11 AM Reply With Quote
I wouldn't have expected to still be able to identify the edge of the metal once it had been welded, so more like the first one.
deezee

posted on 18/6/13 at 11:31 AM Reply With Quote
The 2nd photo shows a complete lack of weld penetration. Not enough amps or too quick. Either way you could probably snap that over your knee!

Mr Whippy

posted on 18/6/13 at 12:26 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by deezee
The 2nd photo shows a complete lack of weld penetration. Not enough amps or too quick. Either way you could probably snap that over your knee!

Yeah not even close to enough power, I'm amazed you haven't melted the edge even a little. Turn the wire speed done and the amps up a setting.

Get some off cuts and practice on them, weld only one side and then rip the weld apart with a bar to see how far it has melted through, which should be the full thickness.

[Edited on 18/6/13 by Mr Whippy]

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
nick205

posted on 18/6/13 at 12:51 PM Reply With Quote