Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: what wipers and how
Murphy

posted on 17/1/12 at 08:59 PM Reply With Quote
what wipers and how

Hi

I'm looking to keep this lowcost for my locost 7. Picked up a classic mini wipers and the loom with the cylinder motor with long metal bit that has the two bits the wipers would connect up to.

What else will I need?
Will a band need put between the two?
How will it work?
Can I wire it up tp the ford steering that has a wiper stalk?

Also I know the wipers are 10" and they are massive now I look at it.

Am I barking up the wrong tree?

It cost me £30 for what I got and by all accounts on the mini spares forum that would have been way more expensive.

I am new to this so don't be too cruel

cheers

Humbug

posted on 17/1/12 at 09:23 PM Reply With Quote
(Don't be fooled by the avatar... I used to have a Stuart Taylor)

Sounds like you've got most of what you need. Even with shorter blades you might need to get shorter wiper arms (or cut down the Mini ones like I did), otherwise there is too big an unwiped area close to the spindles.

Yes, you can wire it up to Sierra wiper stalks. Here is a link to the Sierra wiper diagram:

Some other stuff here: http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=139898

Do a search and there is quite a lot of stuff on here

Good luck

[Edited on 17.01.2012 by Humbug]

RK

posted on 17/1/12 at 11:48 PM Reply With Quote
Wiper wiring is a long subject. I recommend a specific, wiper switch if you want to use the park feature. Otherwise, you are heading for a large headache. I know this first hand.
Murphy

posted on 17/1/12 at 11:49 PM Reply With Quote
WOW thanks

That was comprehensive cheers I think I have enough to go on with all the opinions and diagrams from the threads and links.

Cheers,
John

snapper

posted on 18/1/12 at 12:06 AM Reply With Quote
I wired a mini motor to Sierra stalks no problem.