Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Question about Clarke pillar drill
Chaz

posted on 1/9/13 at 08:38 AM Reply With Quote
Question about Clarke pillar drill

I have just purchased a Clarke CDP5DD (entry level) pillar drill and was wondering which pillar drill vices I'm restricted too? As far as I can see the only vice made by Clarke is the CDV30C 3" vice. I'm a noob regarding pillar drills so please let me know if I'm asking the right questions! Am I only able to use a Clarke vice in their pillar drills? I would imagine not, but this is the level of knowledge I'm at with this stuff. Any advice on these areas is very welcome!

Cheers

Charlie

Peteff

posted on 1/9/13 at 08:45 AM Reply With Quote
The slots in drill vices are pretty universal so as long as a couple line up with the holes in your table you should be fine.

yours, Pete

I went into the RSPCA office the other day. It was so small you could hardly swing a cat in there.

Chaz

posted on 1/9/13 at 09:38 AM Reply With Quote
What would be the largest vice I could use on my pillar drill?
clanger

posted on 1/9/13 at 10:02 AM Reply With Quote
nice little 4" should do you for most jobs. wouldn't bother going too large/expensive on the drill you bought. A quality Abwood might break the table off

keep on eye on the bay of decay, plenty of stuff kicking round on there. best of luck and don't forget to clamp it down if you're new to drilling. even an entry level machine will do you some damage if the drill snatches

Chaz

posted on 1/9/13 at 10:29 AM Reply With Quote
Great advice - many thanks

Charlie

trextr7monkey

posted on 1/9/13 at 11:45 AM Reply With Quote
Hi Charlie