Board logo

Need some advice please
Donboy_s14 - 6/9/09 at 11:22 AM

Hi there

Im new to the forum and looking for some advice before i commit to build a kit car.
Im looking at building a MK Indy with a bike engine. Not really sure what engine but as i have a smallish budget so i was thinking of an R1 as i have heard good things about them.
Also i am not a mechanic and have never built a car before but do work as a service engineer so know how to use tools. Will i strugle to build a kit from start to finish on my own if im not a mechanic ? Also i have a budget of about 6K do you feel that this will be enough to get the car built and on the road?
Any advice will be appreciated
Cheers

austin man - 6/9/09 at 11:29 AM

Wit any kind of build a common sense approach is the best kind. MK will give you support and advice. There are several builders who have fitted the R1 to 7 type cars so all the problems have been ironed out. I would think you can get nearly everything off the shelf now, cradle wiring loom etc.

Most importantly take your time, when you get to the stage where your still scratching your head then shout up and ask someone.

I would think that 60% of builders maybe more are not mechanics.

tomgregory2000 - 6/9/09 at 11:34 AM

i dont think you budget is big enough for a bike engine car, sorry

Donboy_s14 - 6/9/09 at 11:38 AM

What would be a more realistic budget for a build from start to finish? Im in no rush so can always add bits to the budget as i go

big_wasa - 6/9/09 at 11:41 AM

well your looking at over £500 just for iva

Donboy_s14 - 6/9/09 at 11:44 AM

Is that the test that allows the car to be regiesterd on the road?

cd.thomson - 6/9/09 at 11:44 AM

I'm not sure bud, whats your time scale? Generally smaller budgets take more time. I'm hoping to get my dax rush on the road for next summer, which is 18 months from when i bought it.

I'm also working to a 6k budget (started at 5k with a pinto )

Donboy_s14 - 6/9/09 at 11:48 AM