Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Honestly, How easy is Megasquirt?
Jasongray5

posted on 18/6/09 at 09:56 AM Reply With Quote
Honestly, How easy is Megasquirt?

Having recently decided that BEC is not an economic option, I have decided to go for a blacktop zetec with bike tb's running MS.
So my question is, How much of a ball ache is it to get an engine running on MS?
I have NO experience with this type of technology, as most of my engine experience has been 2 stroke motorbikes and quads? Oh and mechanical injection diesels (tractors)
Cheers Guys Jas Gray

[Edited on 18/6/09 by Jasongray5]

How hard can it be?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/33261515@N03/sets/72157611049241239/

cd.thomson

posted on 18/6/09 at 09:58 AM Reply With Quote
for everyone who recommends it/uses it, do a search on their posts in the past and see how many are on MS ballaches .

I'm only going MS because its the most affordable option.

Craig

Benzine

posted on 18/6/09 at 10:03 AM Reply With Quote
I needed quite a bit of help with mine (thanks Claire! ) but I do understand it a bit better now. If you do lots of reading, research etc then it's all achieveable

The mental gymnastics a landlord will employ to justify immoral actions is clinically fascinating. Just because something is legal doesn't make it moral.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
GrumpyOne

posted on 18/6/09 at 10:38 AM Reply With Quote
I spoke to Phil at ExtraEFI, he seems to know the thing inside out. He thinks matching it to my 24V BOB engine would be easy and he can supply it with an initial map.
Costs a bit more at £300 but that is fully built and mapped which will save me weeks of hair pulling.

Cheers
Colin

http://www.extraefi.co.uk/

My wife is very understanding, she understands that if I am in the garage I am not in the house annoying her.

scutter

posted on 18/6/09 at 10:43 AM Reply With Quote