Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Radiator supply diode...
flak monkey

posted on 18/3/07 at 02:43 PM Reply With Quote
Radiator supply diode...

Ok, so has anyone found it necessary to fit a diode into their radiator feed wire?

I have a switch with a light on, and if the fan is not on and you are driving along the light stays on, because the fan is spinning obviously. Also if you forget to turn the fan off before you kill the ignition the engine runs on a bit (not particularly good for any of the ignition system).

So what sort of diode should I fit in the rad fan feed? Dont know anything about speccing electronic components, give me a bundle of wires any day!

Cheers,
David

Sera

http://www.motosera.com

omega 24 v6

posted on 18/3/07 at 02:51 PM Reply With Quote
Your gonna need a pretty big diode for this job. I'm no electronics expert though.
I'd imagine you've not got this fan wired through a relay at the moment??? It would cure the problem if it was (IMHO)

If it looks wrong it probably is wrong.

flak monkey

posted on 18/3/07 at 02:55 PM Reply With Quote
Thats what I was thinking. Theres no relay at the moment. Just switched on a 10amp switch. Could add in a relay if its easier than fitting a diode though. Got to pull my loom apart again to fit my immobiliser anyway.

David

Sera

David Jenkins

posted on 18/3/07 at 03:06 PM Reply With Quote
I'm confused...

Radiator fan wiring isn't rocket science. It's a good idea to wire it through a relay, as for any other electric motor of any size. It's also a good idea to set it up on the non-switched side of the electrics so that it does run on when you switch off the ignition, until the thermo switch decides that the water is cool enough. This is generally regarded as A Good Thing.

Or have I got hold of the wrong end of the story (again)?

David

flak monkey

posted on 18/3/07 at 03:09 PM Reply With Quote
I know its not rocket science...