Board logo

BEC pros & cons
ross05 - 27/2/12 at 08:03 AM

Looking at buying a kit car aug / sept westfield or sylva.

what are the pros and cons re bike engine cars?

I like the idea of bike engine as I was a motorcycle instructor,but how well do they adapt in a car!

what should be avoided / what is the ideal setup ?

how does the bec compare with say a 1800zetec or cvh/pinto?

cheers Russell

scootz - 27/2/12 at 08:10 AM

Morning Russell.

I suggest you stick the kettle on and make yourself a mug of coffee... then search the forum using "CEC v BEC" or similar terms!

Loads of reading to be found as this debate comes up regularly!

ali f27 - 27/2/12 at 08:25 AM

Hi bec great toy tear about trackday race etc pain in the arse long journey crusing etc Cec great long jouney more use if you want to do more miles
Zetec cheap good spares etc short on power duratec more expensive to make fit but can tune for real power way faster than any bec apart from busa turbo

ReMan - 27/2/12 at 08:27 AM

Lightweight car - Lightweight engine

ross05 - 27/2/12 at 08:36 AM

cheers,

kettle on lets see what we can find!!!!!

thinking more for road use,sounds like bec a bit of a pain on the road (town driving) !!!

shame quite fancied a modern 4 wheeled bike.....

Russell

[Edited on 27/2/12 by ross05]

ali f27 - 27/2/12 at 08:41 AM

Not trying to put you off bec we have both just gearing and torque issuses etc sequential box is great fun you need to have a go in both before you decide someone on here will offer i am sure

ReMan - 27/2/12 at 08:45 AM

Properly set up and geared there should be no issues with driving a BEC on the road everyday

motorcycle_mayhem - 27/2/12 at 08:57 AM