Board logo

R1 Indy - poor performance
Paul G - 25/5/06 at 08:27 AM

Morning all,

Finally got to go out in my motor last night after getting it SVA'd and registered, fixing and uprating the clutch and waiting for the never ending rain to stop. Problem is I still dont think its running right, it just doesnt feel as fast as it should. I've read on this site that you can get to 60 in 1st gear but I hit what seems like the rev limiter at about 35 and have to change up. The same in every gear no sooner do I shift up then it sounds like the rev limiter is kicking in and I have to change gear again - the car struggles to go over 80mph. Could this just be down to the engine being badly tuned or something else like fuelling? Is there a safe mode rev limit on the R1 like there is on some cars when the engines cold or the ecu senses a problem?

Any help and ideas will be much appreciated. Its a 98 R1 with a sausage air filter by the way.

Cheers

Paul

donut - 25/5/06 at 08:31 AM

I'm no expert but the 1st thing that i thought was gear ratio at the diff. May help if you post what diff you have.

andyharding - 25/5/06 at 08:34 AM

Sorry to hear you are still having problems Paul. Let me know if I can help.

I take it the new plugs didn't help?

Phil.J - 25/5/06 at 08:38 AM

If not diff ratio then slipping clutch???

Paul G - 25/5/06 at 08:42 AM

Not sure what diff I have to be honest, MK supplied it to me so I assumed it was suitable but if the ratios were wrong which lead to shorter gearing (ie changing up sooner) would that not make acceleration faster? I'll try and find out what diff it is.

Hi Andy,