Board logo

Getting into Sprinting
55ant - 15/7/10 at 03:34 PM

Hello, not sure if this should have been in the racing area but hey,

Ok i have had a bit of a change of situation and would now really like to get into sprinting. Now i would be a complete novice in this, could someone with a bit of time talk me through what i should be doing.

It would be on a locost budget! would probably be looking at picking up an mx5 to use and also keep it road legal but can be very track orientated, on that note are there friendly insurance companies? I had the indy with adrian Flux, called them up to ask about swapping it for an mx5 and they wanted to put my premium up £2,550! i asked why and their reply ' its a powerfull rear wheel drive car, i dont think anyone else would ensure you for less' in a very matter of factly way, i didnt even bother to explain what they where currently ensuring me on.

Thankyou for any help,

Anthony.

[Edited on 15/7/10 by 55ant]

loggyboy - 15/7/10 at 03:37 PM

Speak to your local motorclub. They will either be organising sprints, or point you to another club near by that does.

check out the http://www.msauk.org website for a list of clubs.

mookaloid - 15/7/10 at 03:42 PM

Have a look at the classes and regs for the events that you are thinking of competing in before buying a car to do it with. You could end up trying to make an unsuitable car competitive which doesn't really work.

If you are going to compete in the road going classes then there is very little to do to the car - they actually restrict what you can do. I would think a cage or hoop of some sort would be desirable.

I don't think that insurance companies are interested if you use it for sprinting as that is not an on road use. so it should just be insured for on road.

55ant - 15/7/10 at 03:53 PM

thankyou guys, i have been looking around and the green belt mc are very local to me so going to send a few emails.