Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Newbie
jimbo_7

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:20 PM Reply With Quote

Hi Guys

I have posted this message on the avon forum already so apologies if you have seen this already. I am looking to build my own 7 replica and have around 6-7k to build it, i have no experience of doing this sort of thing before, what are the MK's like to build and how easy are they to follow in terms of the build manuals etc and support you get from MK. Do you need lots of experience with cars to build one?
thanks in advance..
James

Paul G

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:30 PM Reply With Quote
Hi James,

I built my R1 Indy in 6 months, outside with no garage, the only power tool I used was a drill and the only mechanical experience I'd had before was with my Lego Technic 20 years previously! The MK build manual is all but useless (why dont they sort this out?!) but they are great at support on the phone or go to the factory and take lots of pics of cars being built. This site is invaluable and so too are the build diaries of MK owners on here (Hellfire for one)

Get a kit ordered you know it makes sense!

ditchlewis

posted on 22/5/06 at 02:42 PM Reply With Quote
I'll second paul g's comments.

I've found the build easy and if you cannot get an answer from MK than just put a post on here and your problem will be solved.

ditch

donut

posted on 22/5/06 at 03:44 PM Reply With Quote
I too have had no previouse (honest Guv) when i built my 1st MK Indy and it was alot easier than i thought especially when you get help from the superb people on this forum.

Go for it!!!

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
stevec

posted on 22/5/06 at 04:01 PM Reply With Quote