Board logo

best option's
jamesbaa - 21/7/09 at 11:32 PM

Hi guy's and girl's, I hope im not going to ask a question that has been asked to many time and i also hope you can help me!

Basically iv done a couple of track days in my current car and iv seen how your little kitcars handle and perform and i now want to build one. My problem is im a qualified mechanical engineer but i have no welding or fabricating experience!

What is my best option, i havent got an awfull lot of money so i cant afford to buy a kit in full, i was ideally hoping to buy as i was going along! Is this possible? Im not in anyrush to complete it but im just after the best options for my situation!

thanks for any advise guy's!

[Edited on 22/7/09 by jamesbaa]

blakep82 - 21/7/09 at 11:39 PM

well, first up, welcome

er, you'll see in the photo archive, my car is very different, so i don't have any experience of the kit car companies, or anything, but it is possible you can buy a full kit from one, or just a chassis, or chassis and donor pack, etc, so all the welding and most of the fabrication is done already. you might find the odd bit you need done, plenty of top folk on here can help.

perhaps not the best answer ever, but surely someone else will be along to help more. might be tomorrow though

kb58 - 22/7/09 at 12:38 AM

Sounds like Chris Gibbs' book, "Build your own sports car on a budget" would be good.

Flamez - 22/7/09 at 05:16 AM

mac1motorsports allow you to build in stages as you please

http://www.mac1motorsports.co.uk/index.php/Cars-Kits/Type9R.html

mad4x4 - 22/7/09 at 07:37 AM

Only welding I had to do to my factor MK chassis was weld on a bracket here and there and make engine mounts. The rest was bought off the shelf so to speak

Exhaust was another item I ended up welding but that was becasue I couldn;t find a supplier locally

whitestu - 22/7/09 at 08:00 AM