Board logo

Ignorance about kit cars...
james h - 6/3/09 at 04:18 PM

I was wondering if many people on here have tales of people's ignorance about kit cars?

I'll go first....

I work in a restaurant part time, we often have a bit of banter with the chefs. I told them that I was building a kit car and I did a quick sketch:

"haha that looks cr@p, like that one from Wind in the Willows!"
"How much horse power?"
Me - '150ish'
"Hahaha thats cr@p, my C4 vtr has loads more, will be wayy quicker!"
Me - 'Ah I never knew C4s could get to 60mph in about 4 seconds'
"You are talking s**t you are, we should have a race."

Then it was my turn to laugh Things like these just make me want to finish it as soon as possible now Can't wait to turn up to work in it now!

James

eznfrank - 6/3/09 at 04:26 PM

A few months after I'd got my chassis my neighbour came over to have a look and she said that when I first got it she thought I was building a bed!

Dangle_kt - 6/3/09 at 04:27 PM

i;m looking forward to scaring the HELL out of a few of the guys I work with.

Keith Weiland - 6/3/09 at 04:29 PM

You must work with a bunch or a-holes. people I work with are amazed by kit cars and in awe of the power to weight ratio etc of the 7 type cars.

vinny1275 - 6/3/09 at 04:30 PM

You should get one of the lads with a turbo'd busa or something along to race his vtr *ahem* on private land of course *cough*, and post his face afterwards on youtube....

"What size is your engine?"
"1.3"
"Haha, that's cr@p, my vtr will wee all over it.."

"bugg3r"

or, put some money on it, and fleece him.....

Since TG had the R500 on there, the "what is it you're building" conversations have been easier....

mistergrumpy - 6/3/09 at 04:33 PM