Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Helping me try to decide !!!
Tris

posted on 1/3/09 at 11:05 AM Reply With Quote
Helping me try to decide !!!

Hello All,

Firstly as a noobie here, can I just say what a fantastic source of information this site is !. It has occupied me for many, many hours when I should have been doing work and not sat at my desk dreaming of all things car related!

Anyway, to the point of this post. I have always wanted to build a kit car of some kind and I find myself with an empty garage / workshop. A total newbie to car building but no stranger to metal work (I have a fully kitted workshop with lathe, mill, cnc etc from my previous hobby).

The problem I have is that i can’t decide on what I want to build.

Recently did a palmer motor sport day, and fell in love with the whole caterham experience. I want to build something that is track focused but want something different from the standard “lotus 7” mould. Road legal is a must too.

So ideally if someone made a Lotus Elise or Ariel Atom in kit form, I would be there within a second.

Westfield were thinking about doing something called the 40TR, which I liked the look of but it seamed to of died a early death. The more I think of it, the more I am sold on the “look” of the atom, and its exoskeleton.

The SDR V-Storm gets close but I am put off by the seating arrangement.

Been really impressed with Cloudy’s “Warner R4”, which has been covered in so much detail here and looks fantastic. But this is a one off, home designed and produced. Maybe an initial step too far ?

So my question to you all, - what should I go and start ?

[Edited on 1/3/09 by Tris]

les g

posted on 1/3/09 at 11:09 AM Reply With Quote
check out the MEV website
they do an arial atom type car and one with a body tub
cheers les g

jlparsons

posted on 1/3/09 at 11:16 AM Reply With Quote