Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Holiday in north-west France?
David Jenkins

posted on 2/1/11 at 01:54 PM Reply With Quote
Holiday in north-west France?

My missus & I have decided that this year's holiday is going to be in north-west France - but I have no great knowledge of that area.

Does anyone have any clues about places to stay, good places to visit, etc? We like scenery, walking, and so on. We'll probably get there in early September...

[Edited on 2/1/11 by David Jenkins]

jimgiblett

posted on 2/1/11 at 02:16 PM Reply With Quote
We regulary go via Saint-Dié-des-Vosges in NW France on the way to Switzerland. A good base for exploring the beautiful Vosges mountains around La Bresse. Black Forest is only 90 mins away or a trip to Mulhouse for the the Shlumpf motor museum.

- Jim

David Jenkins

posted on 2/1/11 at 03:09 PM Reply With Quote
Erm... the Vosges mountain region is north-east!

I'm thinking about Saint-Malo, Brest, Saint-Nazaire, or similar.

Humbug

posted on 2/1/11 at 03:11 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jimgiblett
We regulary go via Saint-Dié-des-Vosges in NW France on the way to Switzerland. A good base for exploring the beautiful Vosges mountains around La Bresse. Black Forest is only 90 mins away or a trip to Mulhouse for the the Shlumpf motor museum.

- Jim

Last time I looked, North West France meant Brittany, etc., not a very direct route to Switzerland!

Just looked up Saint-Dié-des-Vosges on Google Maps and it is North East France...

scootz

posted on 2/1/11 at 03:13 PM Reply With Quote
Le Mans track and Museum is well worth a visit!

It's Evolution Baby!

iank

posted on 2/1/11 at 03:33 PM Reply With Quote
One thing to be aware of is the weather can be a bit iffy in Northern France, last year it was especially bad, even down as far as the Loire valley. No reason not to go, but take waterproofs just in case.

--