Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Zetec engine questions newbie
chris xe

posted on 4/3/14 at 10:01 AM Reply With Quote
Zetec engine questions newbie

Hi guys,
Im looking into buying a tiger avon kit as a 25th birthday present to myself.
I mentioned this to a friend of mine and he said the zetec engine would be a pain to fit, would need "reversing"? And wouldnt mount to a type 9 gearbox. I know hes ttalking bull but thought I would double check before buying the kit and going in blind.
am I right in saying that a blacktop zetec will fit pretty much no problem. Iv seen diagrms of how people run the cooling system and know people commonly run type 9's.
just wanted to know if theres anything to fitting a zetec that will be an added expense or need majorly altering.
Sorry if this is a awfully dumb question. Im a mechanic by trade but not working in a garage at the moment and havent ever built a kit car before so this is all new to me.
Thanks in advance chris

[Edited on 4/3/14 by chris xe]

AntonUK

posted on 4/3/14 at 10:14 AM Reply With Quote
Zetec will mount to the typ 9 no problem with the correct combination of bell housing, clutch, flywheel, release bearing etc.

My Ginetta is a silvertop, mounted to a type 9 no problem.

Others will be able to advise the correct combination

Build Photos Here

wombat

posted on 4/3/14 at 11:34 AM Reply With Quote
Chris,
Im currently building an Avon with a Silvertop Zetec 2.0.
Engine is in and mounted to Type 9 Gearbox
Have a look in my archive photos.
My first build and with the help of everyone on here it was an easy install.

mcerd1

posted on 4/3/14 at 12:27 PM Reply With Quote
the 'zetec E' engines are no problem (the 1.8 / 2.0 silver or black tops)
they can be fitted to both the type 9 and MT75 boxes with little mix and match of starters and clutches etc.