Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Car design
Anman

posted on 30/11/06 at 05:48 PM Reply With Quote
Car design

Hi,

I am very interested in building my own car. But I am even more interested in building one in designed myself. I am a student mechanical engineering and have decent experience with soldisworks.
Because i dont have the time and money right now to build a car right now, i though i start designing a car of my own.
I started just copying the chassis from the book into Solidworks to get a feeling for the dimensions. But i was wondering why some design desicions were made and why particular dimensions where chosen.
So i was wondering if you could help me with that. Maybe there is a site or a book with some basic concepts?

Also i was wondering what is the advantage of putting the engine in the rear instead of the front?

I hope you can help me.

Thanks in advance,

Anne

DIY Si

posted on 30/11/06 at 05:57 PM Reply With Quote
Firstly, welcome to the mad house. Most of the design decision on the Book chassis are, I believe, pinched form the early Caterhams. Also the book chassis is very easy to improve and the book has many "discrepancies" in it regarding tube lengths and sizes. I can't remember what it's called but there are books on the basis of chassis design, try searching Amazon.
A rear, presumably you mean a mid engined car?, will have a relatively higher handling limit, but is harder to control past that limit, compared with a front engined rwd car. It can also allow for a wider range of engine to choose from, as any front wheel drive set up can be thrown in the boot.

“Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”
Sun Tzu, The Art of War

My new blog: http://spritecave.blogspot.co.uk/

flak monkey

posted on 30/11/06 at 06:08 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the site