Board logo

Newbie - Looking at getting a LoCost
Mr Flaky - 17/7/09 at 04:13 PM

hi guys

newbie here, haven't made the leap into locost ownership yet, but could do with some advice!

Basically just sold my MGB GT to fund a new toy, was originally going to be a MG Midget to race in the car club series but saw a locost the other day and was really taken by it.

Now my ideal plan would be to get a already complete locost to use on the road, the odd hillclimb and ultimately in the 750mc. But I am a bit confused by which route to go down, should I look for a racer and then work backwards to get it on the road or do it the other way around? Also honestly should I look at bike engined ones, because from what I understand you can't race these in the750?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to figure out a plan of action!

cheers

[Edited on 17/7/09 by Mr Flaky]

Gazeddy - 17/7/09 at 04:17 PM

If you want to race in the locost league it has to be 1300xflow. Mite be favourite to get a race One and road prep it being that they have to be pretty much road legal

speedyxjs - 17/7/09 at 04:18 PM

Welcome to the madhouse

There is a guy on here (cant remember the name) who is an expert in the 750mc. Someone will be on soon who can remember his name

Gazeddy - 17/7/09 at 04:22 PM

Matt @ procomp is the local expert

graememk - 17/7/09 at 05:07 PM

well if your looking to buy one you'll have to wait 48 hours to see a forsale advert now lol

[Edited on 17/7/09 by graememk]

beaver34 - 17/7/09 at 05:14 PM

i converted a ex 750 club race car to a road car, best way i think,

myke pocock - 17/7/09 at 05:27 PM

If you go for a road ready one you wont have the possible problems of IVA to contend with. At £450 for the test and a possible further £90 for retest thats something to consider. Just think what you could do with that kind of money.

Mr Flaky - 17/7/09 at 05:33 PM

Beaver34 - now that's what I am talking about!