Board logo

Kit car crisis, lessons to learn?
Slimy38 - 16/11/12 at 07:22 PM

I've just finished watching kit car crisis, and watching it as a kit car newbie I did find it quite interesting. Obviously there were obvious points of failure, for example I could almost see the diff bending the chassis as soon as it was fitted.

Is there anything else I can take from it as 'things not to do'? Not based on the kit itself, but more the way it was built or the additional parts that were chosen?

Although I guess this has already been discussed when it first aired, so I'll go have a quick search now...

maccmike - 16/11/12 at 07:31 PM

hehe youve just opened a can of worms..

40inches - 16/11/12 at 07:32 PM

Sometimes things are not as they may appear
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=172002

steve m - 16/11/12 at 07:33 PM

That progamme was brilliant, and Mark is my best m8, and hes coming round yours soon!

Slimy38 - 16/11/12 at 07:49 PM

quote:
Originally posted by 40inches

I have to admit, that thread made me want to watch it, again to find out 'what not to do'. For example, there are a fair few threads on here that already point out the issues of mixing metric and imperial, but what about the use of multiple washers to fix dampers? Is it a valid way of keeping things adjustable? Or I guess more importantly would it pass IVA?

emwmarine - 16/11/12 at 07:58 PM

Maybe that thread should be a sticky.

rodgling - 16/11/12 at 08:29 PM

In case anyone wants to watch it: you can get it by going to TheBox, making an account and searching for "kit car crisis", then downloading via bit torrent - the torrent is alive and quite fast at the moment.

[Edited on 16/11/12 by rodgling]

Jon Ison - 16/11/12 at 08:29 PM

Would be interesting to see the other perspective to ?

Stott - 16/11/12 at 08:35 PM

Because racecar

40inches - 16/11/12 at 08:53 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Slimy38
quote:
Originally posted by 40inches