Board logo

Ooops. That lasted well :(
-matt - 5/3/13 at 09:05 PM

I fitted new genuine Yamaha clutch plates (both friction and the metal ones). In December. 2000 miles later and it's completely shot. Put in gear, take foot of clutch and it doesn't even stall lol.

Admittedly my fault, going up a steep hill this morning, traffic was very heavy, so constantly start/stop. And may have been slipping the clutch rather a lot with a few revs to stop me keep stalling.

Put my foot down a bit at the top and. Vrooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmm!!!!! The clutch is dead(

So ended up coming home in this:

But oh we'll, will take the clutch apart in the morning and see how bad things look.

Think I will be a bit more careful with me hill starts in future though.

Talon Motorsport - 5/3/13 at 09:15 PM

Hill starts with a bike lump? You do know that those tilt and slide recovery trucks have winches right?

Westy1994 - 5/3/13 at 09:18 PM

I have no experience of BEC, but don't they do heavy duty clutch plates for car installations?, a bike is perhaps 3 or 4 times lighter than a car and does not have as much traction. At least you got home ok anyway.

[Edited on 5/3/13 by Westy1994]

adithorp - 5/3/13 at 09:25 PM

I've done 18000+ miles with my R1 clutch. All it's ever had done is a set of Barnet springs.

I'd suggest you fit HD springs and alter the pedal ratio to give better feel/longer travel; It'll make a big difference to the way it drives (no need for revs to avoid staling)... and don't ride the clutch.

olimarler - 5/3/13 at 09:27 PM

EBC do heavy duty clutches and uprated springs! Good price as well.

Might be worth investing.

-matt - 5/3/13 at 09:37 PM

Forgot to add I already have Barnett springs installed.

I think I will adjust the pedal ratio though, as it very on/off.

Somebody told me (can't remember who) that you can slip wet clutches loads with no problems, he is obviously wrong lol.

sdh2903 - 5/3/13 at 10:22 PM