Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Hi!
big_john

posted on 6/1/11 at 12:03 AM Reply With Quote
Hi!

Hey there fellow locost fans. (put this here as didn't know where else to put it)

Little about me, I'm a 21 yr old student, studying mechanical engineering at newcastle. Huge interest in cars and such.

I have been interested in kit cars for a few years now, especially the Locost. Even more so after my parents gave me the "Build your own Sports car on a budget" book for xmas.

I've pestered my dad for the past few weeks. Speccing up my car etc. He's getting quite annoyed now lol

I have a few questions: how tall is everyone who has one? Since I am 6ft3, and of the larger built variety. Just wondering if i'd fit lol

has anyone used the pre-cut kits that are available on ebay, made by "talonmotorfabrication"? if so, how is the quality. As I don't feel confident, plus don't really have the facilities to cut the steel myself. SO thought this would be a nice little short cut.

Hopefully going to start my project in June, once my exams are done, and I'm back home from uni.

Thanks
Jon

kipper

posted on 6/1/11 at 12:18 AM Reply With Quote
welcome to the mad house,
I am sure you will find all the answers to your future build from the guys on here, as to your size..... there have been giants building cars so don't think it,s an issue.
Denis.

Where did that go?
<<<<

NigeEss

posted on 6/1/11 at 12:20 AM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the forum

Plenty of tall guys here who fit into the book chassis fine. Not heard any bad reports
about the Talon chassis pack. They also do a built chassis.

In your other post about registrations, there is a points system that DVLA use to
determine when you can retain the donor reg but at the mo I can't find a link.

One thing I must mention before others do, please use the search button at the
top of the main page as most things (especially early stage build) have been