Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Car mechanics courses, advice needed pls...
david_hornet27

posted on 30/7/11 at 09:59 PM Reply With Quote
Car mechanics courses, advice needed pls...

Hi All,

I am looking to become a qualified car mechanic and was wondering if anybody has any suggestions as to what I should be looking for?

I currently have a full time secure job but I am bored and thought that getting a qualification in something I am interested in and enjoy (car mechanics) could make me employable in areas that I currently would have no chance in. I am pretty handy with a spanner and have taken apart and rebuilt my Locost Seven many times, including putting different engines in etc. In other words I am not a complete novice, but would be limited in what I could offer as a full time mechanic working in a garage for instance.

I can only seem to find apprenticeships with part time learning at college (not an option as I have a good job already), or car maintenance courses (which seem to only teach what I already know - the basics).

Any ideas guys?

Thanks for any advice...

norfolkluego

posted on 31/7/11 at 01:30 AM Reply With Quote
Don't know your personal circumstances obviously but you say you have a secure job, might be worth thinking about delaying a move until the economy is in slightly better shape. There again there's always a reason not to do something but might just be worth hanging on until the worst of the current debt panic is over.
snapper

posted on 31/7/11 at 03:31 AM Reply With Quote
In my experience (photographer) trying to turn an enjoyable hobby into a full time carrier will only take the fun out of the hobby.
My job has always been my job, never a hobby, at the weekends or in the evening I play with cars and do DIY, I do what I want, when I want, I don't have time scales, well only self imposed ones, and I don't answer to anyone.
Just my humble opinion.

I eat to survive
I drink to forget