Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Noob intro
TAZZMAXX

posted on 17/10/11 at 10:34 AM Reply With Quote
Noob intro

Hi,

My name is Gareth, I'm an engineer by trade and have my own fabrication business. Building a car from scratch has always been on my to do list and, having brought the Haynes Roadster book a few months back, it's now becoming a reality. I've brought all the steel box for the chassis and have sourced a 2 litre Pinto mated to a Type 9 gearbox which will be arriving this week. From another source I've got a reconditioned XR 4x4 3.62 LSD, bolt on drive shafts, hubs, calipers etc. The one item left to find that will let me get started is a pair of front uprights, I just never realised how hard to come by some of this Sierra stuff is now.

I'll get photos up as and when progress is made, I'd like to think that I can have the car completed for early next year as I want to get out on track with it. I'm not intending it to be a road car so it will probably lack the finesse of some of the cars you guys build. I've not been a lurker to the site so I've not had a good look round as yet but will do so over the coming weeks. I'm sure I'll pick up plenty of tips and advice for all those questions that need to be asked.

If this is posted in the wrong area, Admin feel free to move it.

Lastly, if anyone wonders why I have a strange username, it's what I use on another car forum so I thought I'd stick with it.

Cheers,

Gareth

scutter

posted on 17/10/11 at 11:27 AM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the mad house, have fum with th ebuild as that's what it SHOULD be

ATB Dan.

The less I worked, the more i liked it.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DixieTheKid

posted on 17/10/11 at 11:56 AM Reply With Quote
Welcome aboard!

COS IT'S Worth IT

mcerd1

posted on 17/10/11 at 12:07 PM Reply With Quote
welcome