Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: New Build Plans Require Advise
EX01

posted on 22/4/13 at 11:00 AM Reply With Quote
New Build Plans Require Advise

Hi Guys

Been lurking a good long while and finally registered and some nice people have been kind enough to reply on U2U.
Thought I would throw out my plans for scrutineering before I spend any money though, as your experienced and I’m new to building.

Baby just arrived and my current and beloved ZX10R had to go due to ill advised letting the wife see some Go-Pro footage of my Sunday Morning Potter to Devils Bridge......

I have longed to own a Radical since I can remember, but that’s not financially possible, so I started investigating Lotus7 locost builds, then I saw the Spire GTR/GT3 so for style of build that’s what I am after a Locost Down force car.

Will probably enter some form of competition at some point, I used to rally and track day and my father and brother in law both currently compete in Hillclimb across the North West, though I prefer circuit racing myself and track days go without saying, road legal would be preferred.

Now your armed with a little knowledge about me and what I aim for I hope this helps the below list and perhaps you guys can steer me right.

I don’t want a BEC they are good but I don’t like Marmite so CEC it is.
Low weight as possible for a CEC.
520bhp per ton, done plenty of track days on motorbike’s I know what fast and ‘really’ low down feels like and did I mention I don’t like Marmite?
Down force car like a Radical, I want to corner like on rails, power is nothing without control, slides are fun but not fast.

Spire GTR3 is BEC only so that is out, but a sexy bit of kit!
Spire GTR looks ideal for me but I worry the chassis is an old design, heavy and requires Sierra running gear which I want to move away from as there are lighter and stronger alternatives (so I read, but for the Spire?).