Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Best Locost Chassis/BEC Engine???
Neadles

posted on 11/6/12 at 07:52 PM Reply With Quote
Best Locost Chassis/BEC Engine???

I am new to this type of car and hope this hasn't been asked in this way yet as I've had a good look around, if it has please give me a link and delete the thread.

Anyway, I have just sold my Tintop race car that I built from scratch and had for a while. Now I want a new toy that is road legal to use for sunny day blasts and track days, maybe racing later on.

After reading many threads I want a BEC no more than £8k, so if you have one let me know! But it's the chassis I'm unsure of after reading different reviews, I appreciate peoples opinions differ as well, though I would like some advise. I like the look of the following cars:

Mk Indy
Mac#1
Westfield
Fishur Fury
Stuuart Taylor Phoenix

Now the questions are, which are best for weight/handling/build quality?? I'm only short so don't worry about size!

Next I'm conscious of the weight and power available with a bike engine but am a real Honda nut so am leaning towards a Fireblade engine. So a few questions on this subject if I may?

Are the older carb 898/919 plants good enough?
Are the CBR 1100 Super Blackbird plants that dodgy for blowing up and oil starvation problems, as I'll be driving it hard on tack!?
Do people believe that holding out for an R1 seems sensible as they have the power and reliablity?

If I'm completely honest I like the thought of a Mk Indy with a 998/999 blade engine but these seem rare so may be the R1 lump?

Thanks in advance for any opinions or figures

Chris

mark chandler

posted on 11/6/12 at 08:12 PM Reply With Quote
Best look at the winning cars in the RGB series then, when going fast you need aero so discounts most '7' styles to be competitive.

Or make it fast by adding a turbo and forget about racing.