Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Grenada engine removal tips needed
ADD

posted on 26/11/02 at 10:01 PM Reply With Quote
Grenada engine removal tips needed

Hi, I am very new to this, but have just started dismantling my donar grenada. I have gotten to the stage of taking the engine out. In the haynes manual it says to support the transmission with a trolley jack however I need to move the car in order to drop the engine back down to the floor is it possible to just leave the g-box hanging on the one bracket with out bending anything. Or has anyone got any better ideas???
stephen_gusterson

posted on 26/11/02 at 10:17 PM Reply With Quote
is it possible to put a rope under the box and tie it to a beam of rhs box section above the car?

If you cant rope it to the box, you could make up a bracket and fix it to a bolt or two at the top of the bell housing.

The box is held on a single rubber mount. If you dont support the front it will droop down and force the prop up to the floor. This might not be a problem......but I recon roping it up would be easy.

You could even make up a T shaped bracket out of two bits of RHS - one across the bonnet and the other going down to a bolt at the top of the box....no rope involved. just weld the two together on the car, so no rope tensioning problems.

atb

steve

OR

Put the box on a trolley jack, cut the front lower member off the car, and just pull the engine straight out the front.

atb

steve

[Edited on 26/11/02 by stephen_gusterson]

chrisg

posted on 26/11/02 at 10:49 PM Reply With Quote
Are you using a hoist to take the engine out? I recently took the engine and box out of a Mk3 Granada without a hoist - I didn't need to move the car, why do you think you have to shift it?

Cheers

Chris