Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: How easy is it to clean alloys?
peterriley2

posted on 1/10/06 at 08:42 PM Reply With Quote
How easy is it to clean alloys?

Hello,
im looking at buying some alloys off ebay (very cheap hopefully) but they are not in good condition, and need repairing. how easy is this to do (i have no experience) and what tools do you use- i assume you cant just set to work with a wire brush on the drill as it'll leave horrible marks. help would be appreciated because i dont mind doing work.
also, i may want to spray them black, i have a compressor and spray gun, but id still need to get a very high quality finish pre painting right?
pic of them- Rescued attachment 88_1.jpg
Rescued attachment 88_1.jpg

Joel

If you dont respect yourself, dont expect respect from anyone else
Live your dreams, dont dream your life
Women only want you for one thing- everything!

RazMan

posted on 1/10/06 at 08:49 PM Reply With Quote
Peter, that wheel in the pic looks pretty horrid and will probably need the services of a wheel refurbisher - usual cost is about £50 per wheel but that one might cost a bit more.
For minor dings you can often use metal loaded epoxy glue to fill in the dents and then rub them down with wet & dry. Prime and paint as usual.

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Macbeast

posted on 1/10/06 at 09:45 PM Reply With Quote
It looks as if the rim has completely gone at 9 o' clock. You must be able to do better than that...however cheap they are on e-bay.

I'm the world's biggest optimist but I wouldn't touch those with a bargepole.

Catpuss

posted on 1/10/06 at 09:52 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Macbeast