this could be well worth signing up

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/scrapcam/

macnab

posted on 9/2/07 at 03:31 PM Reply With Quote
you may sign that but there's no way they'll ever do it

[Edited on 9/2/07 by macnab]

nib1980

posted on 9/2/07 at 03:34 PM Reply With Quote
sorry i disagree, speed cameras do make a differance. I work as a safety engineer for an OEM and they do make a differance. people can quote statistics all the want, but two underlying things remain.

there are lie's, dam lies, and statistics.

secondly, if you weren't speeding (which is illegal), you wouldn't get caught.

sorry I woun't be signing, (and I've lost my license because of speeding so I understand before anyone asks)

Hellfire

posted on 9/2/07 at 03:53 PM Reply With Quote
I disagree too - speed camera's do make a difference. They increase the number of road accidents due to people speeding up to them then slowing down in THE ZONE then speeding up again! Kind of defeats the whole objective in the first place.

I've had a clean license for 15 years now, my speed typically remains within the national speed limits, so I have no problem with them putting them everywhere.

However, it may be the only thing that gets Bliar or brown into office again so they need every trick in the book at their disposal!

Steve

[Edited on 9-2-07 by Hellfire]

graememk

posted on 9/2/07 at 04:08 PM Reply With Quote
i agree speed cameras do and dont work, its where they put them, no probs where theres a school, village on main road etc, but why on a main road in the middle of know where, no reason but to make money, on the other hand speed does = accidents = death, less speed more reaction time less death.

would be better to limit engine size and amount of passengers in a young drivers car.

[Edited on 9/2/07 by graememk]

iiyama

posted on 9/2/07 at 04:14 PM Reply With Quote