Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: dodgy chassis diagram please be nice :D
mic

posted on 28/6/07 at 02:58 PM Reply With Quote
dodgy chassis diagram please be nice :D

ok i appologise for my shoddy attempt but im at work and im really not an artistic person. reasons as to why i chose what i want to do arnt really important, i'll try explain things better if its not clear enough!

basically i want to make a mini-based locost. i want to make it rear wheel drive so plans are to use a front subframe on either end of the car... the rear subframe will hold the engine and the front subframe will house the fuel tank. this is the kind of design i had hoped on. intentions were to design a chassis basicaly like a box to fit between the subframes - welded to the front subframe but the rear (mini front) subframe would be bolt-on so could be changed with any mini subframe with engine attatched!

appologies for the lack of detail but first things first, if the idea is ok i'll start the build..... if its obviously not legal and plain stupid then i wont waste my time with it

cheers

mic Rescued attachment chassis.JPG
Rescued attachment chassis.JPG

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
donut

posted on 28/6/07 at 03:11 PM Reply With Quote
Has been done before. There was a really well built and very nice Mini based locost at Brands Hatch Total Kit Car Magazine show a few years ago. I did have photo's but my pooter has gone tits up so i can't show them. Surrey Dave on here took some so if he sees this thread he may be able to post some pics for you.

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Alan B

posted on 28/6/07 at 03:11 PM Reply With Quote