Board logo

Mk Indy with GSXR1000, Sump mod question???
Gixer Indy - 18/7/07 at 11:30 AM

Hi Everyone,
Im a newbie to this game,so please be gentle!
I bought an Mk a few weeks ago, and now im looking to make some improvements.
Could anyone give some advice on sump mods,it's on the standard issue sump at the moment,and the lack of ground clearance concerns me a bit,and the thought of oil starvation on fast road and track days It has an oil cooler from a Hayabusa fitted,and looks to be overfilled,going by the sight glass.

Any advice would be appreciated

Cheerz
Colin Rescued attachment KC3.jpg
Rescued attachment KC3.jpg

Hellfire - 18/7/07 at 11:34 AM

So you've bought McLannahans MK.....

Is the standard GSXR sump an odd shape? Got any pictures?

Oh and welcome to the madhouse BTW

Phil

How much clearance do you currently have below the sump and what is your ride height?

[Edited on 18-7-07 by Hellfire]

icecarver - 18/7/07 at 11:47 AM

Hi
Went straight to a dry sump, same as used by
Radical and Stuart Taylor.
Apparantly its the only way your engine will survive.
Carl at Extreme engines Bourne Lincolnshire,
its expensive but very high quality

Gixer Indy - 18/7/07 at 11:50 AM

Hi Phil,Thanks.

I've got 70mm from bung to ground!
The sump looks like this one.

Colin[img]http://locostbuilders.co.uk/upload/a590892-6e0b_1[1].jpg[/img]

MOz - 18/7/07 at 12:03 PM

What about plumbing in an accusump? Would that be cheaper than dry sumping it????

Also, is the car on adjustable shocks??? Maybe look into raising the ride height a bit for more peace of mind........

MOz

Hellfire - 18/7/07 at 12:14 PM