Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Rover V8 EFI
Moorron

posted on 10/11/08 at 11:08 AM Reply With Quote
Rover V8 EFI

Little help needed with my Tintop.

It’s a range rover classic fitted with a rover EFI hotwire V8 it hasn’t got lambda sensors or catalyst converters fitted.
Its been off the road for 3 months and ive just got it back up running after reworking the chassis. The car drives fine but when I come to a junction the engine nearly stalls, the revs drop to about 200RPM and about 5 seconds later it corrects itself. I have taken out the idle solenoid (which is less than a year old) and cleaned it and the area it fits into but it hasn’t helped.

Any ideas?

Which areas should I tackle next? Spark plugs, dizzy cap, fueling?

Cheers

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

DarrenW

posted on 10/11/08 at 11:22 AM Reply With Quote
I assume it ws OK before taking off the road. Was fuel level low, i dont suppose the fuel would have gone 'off' after such a short time would it?

i think id be making sure everything is cleaned up and take it for a longer run to see if it sorts itself out. Could anyone have played with the tick over or is it Ok when idling? Air filter dry and clean? Fuel filter clear?

02GF74

posted on 10/11/08 at 11:23 AM Reply With Quote
dunno but is sounds like the idel stepper motor/flap valve thingy that is always gettign bunged up on these.

You need to ask on a land rover forum as this problem comes up tiem and time againm hence I know the gist but not the detail.

Agriv8

posted on 10/11/08 at 11:29 AM Reply With Quote
A few further questions :-

Auto or manual gearbox ?
Air con fitted
Have you had the throttle pot off ?

I have got the hotwire test PDF somwhere can forward if required ( have you a decent multimeter ) what reg is the hotwire from ?

Regards

Agriv8

Taller than your average Guy !