Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Rover V8 Rough Idle
Irony

posted on 14/7/14 at 07:42 AM Reply With Quote
Rover V8 Rough Idle

I am trying to get my rover v8 to run correctly. Its got a weber 500 and megajolt. I have uploaded a standard Rover V8 ignition map to the megajolt. The idle is just rough as anything. I have adjusted the idle screws on the weber but other than preventing it from petering out altogether it's not made a great deal of difference. Any ideas?

Sounds not great

Irony

posted on 14/7/14 at 07:49 AM Reply With Quote
I should probably add that I am a right newbie when it comes to engine building and tuning. I don't know if I should start with the carb or the ignition.
minitici

posted on 14/7/14 at 07:49 AM Reply With Quote
No idea - but is it firing in the correct order?
Irony

posted on 14/7/14 at 07:52 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by minitici
No idea - but is it firing in the correct order?

I assume it is in the correct order. I would have thought it would be running rougher than it is if the leads were out of order. On adding a few revs it runs better.

Irony

posted on 14/7/14 at 08:18 AM Reply With Quote
Also the carb has been sat for 3 years without use.
mcerd1

posted on 14/7/14 at 08:40 AM Reply With Quote
have you checked that TDC is where megajolt thinks it is with a timing strobe ?

[Edited on 14/7/2014 by mcerd1]

-

Irony

posted on 14/7/14 at 08:50 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by mcerd1
have you checked that TDC is where megajolt thinks it is with a timing strobe ?

[Edited on 14/7/2014 by mcerd1]

Nope mostly because I don't have a timing strobe. I checked that the TDC mark on the balancer was actually TDC and then placed my toothed cog accordingly. I thought this would be enough. I can maybe borrow a timing light or buy one. Never used one before though.

[Edited on 14/7/14 by Irony]

mcerd1