Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Copper exhaust nuts?
RazMan

posted on 23/11/05 at 08:48 PM Reply With Quote
Copper exhaust nuts?

I've just ordered some shorter exhaust studs for my Duratec V6 and the new exhaust system (for a scary price) and I noticed that the supplier lists copper exhaust nuts.
My experience must be lacking in this department as I have never used (or noticed) copper nuts before. What is the reason for using copper? Is it to lessen corrosion? Do I use washers with them?

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
kev R1

posted on 23/11/05 at 08:50 PM Reply With Quote
steel ones will get so hot and basically weld them selves on, use copper grease aswell.,and use spring washers to stop them vibrating loose
RazMan

posted on 23/11/05 at 08:56 PM Reply With Quote
Copper ones or will steel do?

I have always used K Nuts in the past - but thinking about it I have never had to remove a manifold fitted like that. I bet the new owner of my old Nissan S13 is cursing me for using steel nuts on the manifolds and turbo!

[Edited on 23-11-05 by RazMan]

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Kowalski

posted on 23/11/05 at 09:29 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by RazMan
I have never used (or noticed) copper nuts before. What is the reason for using copper? Is it to lessen corrosion? Do I use washers with them?