Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Best chassis to construct ???????????????/
forrest

posted on 27/8/06 at 04:31 PM Reply With Quote
Best chassis to construct ???????????????/

Big hello and lots or respect to all the builders on here.
After rolling ( 7 times )my purpose built track car, a Mk 3 xr3i , its time to build another car, so a lightweight chassis is the way foward.

I am new to the construction side of a chassis and would like your opinions and advise on what type of chassis i should be building.

Car will be for track days only not road use ( but i might consider a further build for road use if it is as much fun as everyone say's it it).

I have a 2.0 Ltr Zetec with twin 45 webbers, and a 2wd cosworth box, which came with a quaith diff, and all drive shafts and hubs and the prop.

Do i build to the book, with a de dion rear end or IRS, or do i need to follow the McSorly 7+4 to accomodate the taller engine.

I look foward to your reply's and thanks inadvance.

Forrest

big_wasa

posted on 27/8/06 at 05:14 PM Reply With Quote
your motor will go fine in a book chassis.

<------------------------

Hellfire

posted on 27/8/06 at 06:41 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the nuthouse.

Not wanting to dissuade you from building your own chassis but it can sometimes be both cheaper and quicker to buy a manufacturers chassis. Depends on your particular circumstances really but it is another option. Apologies if you've already looked into this and decided to build your own.

Before long someone will come on extolling the virtues of powerful bike engines, particularly in track orientated cars. Again, just another consideration for you and apologies if you've already looked into this and still decided to go CEC instead of BEC.

Phil

forrest

posted on 27/8/06 at 10:43 PM Reply With Quote