Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Wickes patio Doors
DarrenW

posted on 24/4/07 at 11:12 AM Reply With Quote
Wickes patio Doors

Looking at fitting some french doors to replace knackered sliding patio doors on this house ive just bought.

Wickes upvc doors are a good price. Anyone had any? What are they like?

Im not bothered about long term durability of the plastic etc - selling house asap. Just want them to look decent, work and be secure. Do they come with relevant regs such as Fensa etc. Im sre the solicitors will ask for paperwork to prove compliance when i come to sell.

bilbo

posted on 24/4/07 at 11:26 AM Reply With Quote
I'm no expert, but the way I understand it is that if you fit them yourself it's then up to you to get all the relevant inspections etc sorted out to ensure building regs compliance etc. If a fensa registered firm does the work, then it's all done for you - Fensa will send you a certificate when the work is done (they may or may not decide to inspect the work, but they will make all the arrangements and cover costs etc).

HTH

----

Edited to say that the above relates to windows, not sure if it relates to doors as well? My guess is that it does if the frame is being replaced?

[Edited on 24/4/07 by bilbo]

---------------------------------------

Build Diary: http://bills-locost.blogspot.com/
Web Site: http://locost.atspace.com

Mr Whippy

posted on 24/4/07 at 11:30 AM Reply With Quote
As far as I'm aware you don't need any inspections for simply swaping some doors, dead easy job anyway.

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
bartonp

posted on 24/4/07 at 11:47 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by bilbo