Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding exhaust to flange
matt_gsxr

posted on 29/12/10 at 11:25 PM Reply With Quote
Welding exhaust to flange

hi there,

Any tips on how to weld exhaust pipes (1.6mm stainless tube) to a 12mm stainless flange? Its for a turbo.

I can join the tube together alright (a bit ugly but penetrations seems okay), but not sure how I should deal with the thick flange.

Welder is a clarke 110e, and I've got 0.8mm stainless wire and Halfords disposable Argon.

I am new to welding, so please be gentle.

Thanks,

Matt

Ben_Copeland

posted on 29/12/10 at 11:35 PM Reply With Quote
Tack it and get someone to TIG it, results will be much better

Ben

Locost Map on Google Maps

Z20LET Astra Turbo, into a Haynes Roadster

Enter Your Details Here
http://www.facebook.com/EquinoxProducts for all your bodywork needs!

matt_gsxr

posted on 29/12/10 at 11:38 PM Reply With Quote
Ben,

Do you mean it will end up prettier, or will it be functionally superior.

I don't mind a bit of grinding to tidy it up.

It seems a bit defeatist

Matt

RazMan

posted on 29/12/10 at 11:41 PM Reply With Quote
Personally I would do as Ben suggested. I have MIG'd manifolds before and now I always find someone to TIG them for me. The whole job will be stronger, less likely to warp or crack and look 10 times better.

Try and make a welding template too - thick as you like to prevent warping.

[Edited on 29-12-10 by RazMan]

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Ben_Copeland

posted on 29/12/10 at 11:44 PM Reply With Quote
As per Raz, it'll be a much better job all round.

Ben

Locost Map on Google Maps

Z20LET Astra Turbo, into a Haynes Roadster

Enter Your Details Here
http://www.facebook.com/EquinoxProducts for all your bodywork needs!

mark chandler