Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Final Engine Choice..... Or Is It ?
Kosmo

posted on 22/9/06 at 08:02 AM Reply With Quote
Final Engine Choice..... Or Is It ?

I'm ready to place an order for my Striker chassis etc....however I still have not decided on what engine to choose?
Originally it was going to be a 4-AGE engine, then it was a pinto or xflow, then Zetec and now it's a bike engine.

I have no experience with bike engines and this is my 1st build so I don’t want it to be too difficult.

My final questions are concerns are below and would appreciate your help and comments -

1) What bike engine would be preferable ? I would like to have a 0-60 of about 4 secs !
2) What parts from the bike do I require for the build ?
3) Do you use the standard carbs/TB's and what is preferred ?
4) What ECU is required ?
5) Are bike engines difficult to integrate with the loom supplied for the Striker ?
6) What age bike engine is recommended, are there restrictions due to emissions ?
7) What are the most commons problems I will come up against ?

I feel this may turn into a bit of a challenge between CEC and BEC builders, if all you CEC builders want to defend car engines feel free, may be I'll change my mind again !!!

Cheers,
Kosmo

fesycresy

posted on 22/9/06 at 08:07 AM Reply With Quote
1. R1

2. Engine (), loom / ecu, throttle bodies or carbs / coil packs / relays / rectifier / clocks / clock loom.

Just buy a motor with all running gear.

3. As it comes with the bike

4. Again, bike ecu

5. Don't even buy a loom from striker, just extend the bike loom

6. I would say 02/03, but a carb'd version wouldn't need a power commander

7. SVA emmissions !

Good luck.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sooner you fall behind, the more time you'll have to catch up.

02GF74

posted on 22/9/06 at 09:09 AM Reply With Quote
quote: