Board logo

Exhaust outlet length....effect on Power? .......Blown Diffuser
StuartBJ - 24/11/10 at 05:38 PM

Not to do things by half....... I have been discussing the feasability of installing a blown diffuser with Alan from AGM, which is something he has considered previously but we have hit a question maybe someone with more knowledge can answer.

My exhaust would be as normal ....downpipes....silencer(back box) in a similar place as a 7........ but the actual exit pipe from the silencers would be lengthened from a few inches to 1-2 foot to enable it to be routed to the diffuser.

Does anyone know the effects this would cause? My initial investigation seems to be telling me that only the sound will be effected as it is downstream on the silencer (back box) and that I may actually see a widening of the torque band before peak torque is achieved as long as I have sensible diameter pipes i.e 2.5-3 inches dia and not coffee cans.....but alas I am not an expert on this subject, I hope someone else is ????

Oh and when I say blown diffuser I don`t mean the nancy boy F1 type, I`m refering to the 1984 Renault (Re50) Lemans variety.

Food for though ehh

[Edited on 24/11/10 by StuartBJ]

Badger_McLetcher - 24/11/10 at 06:30 PM

I can't imagine it would make too much of a difference downstream of the silencer, as long as it is free flowing. I'd be sceptical of the torque band widening tbh, but stranger things have happened
However if the diffuser is actually working and creating a low pressure area, you may see some small gain at speed as the gasses are sucked out.
I'm afraid I'm no expert, this is just an opinion!

StuartBJ - 24/11/10 at 06:46 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Badger_McLetcher
I can't imagine it would make too much of a difference downstream of the silencer, as long as it is free flowing. I'd be sceptical of the torque band widening tbh, but stranger things have happened