Board logo

Indicator always on
Benzine - 4/8/05 at 08:00 AM

Recently I did what I thought was impossible. Side lights, dipped and main all work...rear lights, brakes lights work

But as soon as i connect an earth to the indicators they come on straight away. I thought this may be due to the stalk being engaged to indicate left or right but no :S

Is this some kind of common complaint? I know it's probably obvious but can't work it out (using PWS loom btw) and no forum searches turned anything up.

Thanks y'all fo the help

JoelP - 4/8/05 at 08:15 AM

does it still do it if you unplug the stalk switches? Are you using sierra switches with a normal 3 connector flasher relay?

And, is it possible that the hazard lights are on?

does it do it with the ignition off? If so, its a hazard light problem.

[Edited on 4/8/05 by JoelP]

DarrenW - 4/8/05 at 08:28 AM

Wild idea - im no expert. Could the relay be stuck?

Benzine - 4/8/05 at 09:36 AM

quote:
Originally posted by JoelP
does it still do it if you unplug the stalk switches? Are you using sierra switches with a normal 3 connector flasher relay?

And, is it possible that the hazard lights are on?

does it do it with the ignition off? If so, its a hazard light problem.

[Edited on 4/8/05 by JoelP]

Hazard switch is off, just checked But now that I want to test everything it's stopped working completely All other lights still work, just nothing at all with the indicators now :S

mookaloid - 4/8/05 at 09:38 AM

quote:

Hazard switch is off, just checked But now that I want to test everything it's stopped working completely All other lights still work, just nothing at all with the indicators now :S

Bummer

Good luck

Mark

Peteff - 4/8/05 at 10:23 AM

Were they flashing or constant ? What colour is the wire from your switch to the Premier wire on the relay, bk/w or bk/gn/w and does it go to terminal 49a which is power out of the relay via the indicator stalk.

Petemate - 4/8/05 at 11:50 AM