Board logo

My Lucky Pants Worked !!
RazMan - 21/1/11 at 12:39 PM

After spending the last 15 years or so in self employment I recently decided that it was becoming too much of a slog and it was time to pack it all in and get a proper job The main obstacle I found, was the fact that at 56 years old, I found myself competing with 30-somethings who had better qualifications than me and were willing to work for peanuts. After 200 (yes really) job applications I felt quite disillusioned and wondered if I would ever find someone willing to employ me. I was often told that I was 'over qualified' for the relatively junior positions that I was applying for, but I could tell that they regarded me as an old fart that wouldn't fit in to their kindergarten business plan (ooh did that sound bitter? )

Anyway I stuck my neck out and went for my first real interview with a bigger organisation since I was an apprentice in 1971 It felt a bit strange to be interviewed by guys half my age but hey ho. The interview went well on Wednesday and I just heard that I GOT THE JOB!!!

As from next month I am going back to my (apprentice served) roots and becoming a Telephone Engineer again after a 30 year gap.

Hooray for me!

blakep82 - 21/1/11 at 12:45 PM

nice one
hmm, telephone engineer, needing a new job myself, want a proper job too, fed up of horrible call centre/temp rubbish. might be something to try for myself
good luck! hope you enjoy it

McLannahan - 21/1/11 at 12:45 PM

Great news Raz!

Mr Whippy - 21/1/11 at 12:46 PM

well done 200 is a hell of a lot of applications

I tailor each CV to the job I'm applying for as I have also in the past been told I was too qualified, so just show what is relevant to the job an skirt over with little detail any experience that could seem too much.

[Edited on 21/1/11 by Mr Whippy]

bbwales - 21/1/11 at 12:47 PM

Congratulations Raz, still plenty of life in us old uns.

Bob

imp paul - 21/1/11 at 12:47 PM